About Town Government

The Town of Jackson is the only incorporated municipality in Teton County, Wyoming. Jackson's Town Council has a Mayor and 4 Councilmembers, elected on staggered terms. A Town Manager and Town Attorney report to this elected board, and the Town Manager oversees all Town Staff and day-to-day operations. 

The Town employs approximately 150 staff members who work in Administration, Community Development, Building & Planning, Personnel, Legal Municipal Court, Public Works, and Jackson's police departments. The Town also works with Teton County to support various joint departments to provide additional services and programs including Fire/EMS, Affordable Housing, Long-Term Planning, Victim Services, Regional Transportation Planning, Parks & Rec, Pathways, START Bus, and an Animal Shelter. 


Our Mission 

The Town of Jackson provides municipal services that enhance the quality of life for our residents and guests and to help support the local economy. We train, mentor and challenge our employees to develop to their highest potential and to provide service that exceeds the expectations of residents and guests.

We foster partnerships to solve problems and more effectively use our resources. We appreciate the unique environmental resources and scenic beauty where we live and work to acknowledge our responsibilities to future generations.

Our Purpose 

The Town of Jackson exists to provide municipal services necessary to support the residential, business, environmental, and historical interests that define our community. Our services enhance the quality of life for those who live here and enhance the experience for our guests.